Michael Guest, Mississippi *Chairman* Susan Wild, Pennsylvania *Ranking Member*

David P. Joyce, Ohio John H. Rutherford, Florida Andrew R. Garbarino, New York Michelle Fischbach, Minnesota

Veronica Escobar, Texas Mark DeSaulnier, California Deborah K. Ross, North Carolina Glenn F. Ivey, Maryland



U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

> Keelie Broom Counsel to the Chairman

David Arrojo Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt December 27, 2023

STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING REPRESENTATIVE SHEILA CHERFILUS-MCCORMICK

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement:

In accordance with House Rule XI, clause 3, and Committee Rules 10(a)(2) and 17A, the Committee unanimously voted to establish an Investigative Subcommittee. Pursuant to the Committee's action, the Investigative Subcommittee shall have jurisdiction to determine whether Representative Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick violated the Code of Official Conduct or any law, rule, regulation, or other applicable standard of conduct in the performance of her duties or the discharge of her responsibilities, with respect to allegations that she may have violated campaign finance laws and regulations in connection with her 2022 special election and/or 2022 re-election campaigns; failed to properly disclose required information on statements required to be filed with the House; and/or accepted voluntary services for official work from an individual not employed in her congressional office.

The Honorable Andrew R. Garbarino will serve as the Chair of the Investigative Subcommittee, and the Honorable Chrissy Houlahan will serve as the Ranking Member. The other two members of the Investigative Subcommittee are the Honorable Cliff Bentz and the Honorable Troy A. Carter.

The Committee has determined to take this action following receipt of a referral from the Office of Congressional Ethics regarding this matter. The Committee notes that the mere fact of establishing an Investigative Subcommittee does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred.

No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules. Pursuant to House Rule XI, clause 3(b)(8)(B)(iii), and Committee Rule 17A(f)(1), no documents will be released at this time.