Susan W. Brooks, Indiana Chairwoman Theodore E. Deutch, Florida Ranking Member

Patrick Meehan, Pennsylvania Trey Gowdy, South Carolina Kenny Marchant, Texas Leonard Lance, New Jersey

Yvette D. Clarke, New York Jared Polis, Colorado Anthony Brown, Maryland Steve Cohen, Tennessee



## U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

Donna Herbert
Director of Administration

Sheria A. Clarke Counsel to the Chairwoman

Daniel J. Taylor

Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103

Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt

June 26, 2017

## STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRWOMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING MICHAEL COLLINS

Pursuant to House Rule XI, clause 3(b)(8)(A), and Committee Rules 17A(b)(1)(A) and 17A(c)(1), the Chairwoman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) have jointly decided to extend the matter regarding Michael Collins, which was transmitted to the Committee by the Office of Congressional Ethics on May 11, 2017.

The Committee notes that the mere fact of a referral or an extension, and the mandatory disclosure of such an extension and the name of the subject of the matter, does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred, or reflect any judgment on behalf of the Committee.

The Committee will announce its course of action in this matter on or before Wednesday, August 9, 2017.