Theodore E. Deutch, Florida *Chairman* Kenny Marchant, Texas *Ranking Member*

Grace Meng, New York Susan Wild, Pennsylvania Dean Phillips, Minnesota Anthony Brown, Maryland

George Holding, North Carolina Jackie Walorski, Indiana Michael Guest, Mississippi



U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

> David W. Arrojo Counsel to the Chairman

Christopher A. Donesa

Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt August 13, 2020

STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING REPRESENTATIVE STEVE WATKINS

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement:

On July 14, 2020, criminal charges against Representative Steve Watkins were filed in Shawnee County District Court in Kansas. Pursuant to Committee Rule 18(e)(2) and Section 103(k) of House Resolution 6 of the 116th Congress, within 30 days of a Member being indicted or otherwise formally charged with criminal conduct, the Committee shall either establish an Investigative Subcommittee or report to the House describing its reasons for not establishing an Investigative Subcommittee.

In accordance with House Rule XI, clause 3, and Committee Rules 10(a)(2) and 18(e), the Committee unanimously voted to establish an Investigative Subcommittee. Pursuant to the Committee's action, the Investigative Subcommittee shall have jurisdiction to determine whether Representative Watkins falsely reported information to a law enforcement officer; voted in an election district without being lawfully registered to vote; knowingly marked or transmitted more than one advance voting ballot; and/or failed to notify the proper agency of a change of name or address.

The Honorable Anthony Brown will serve as Chair of the Investigative Subcommittee, and the Honorable Pete Olson will serve as the Ranking Member. The other two members of the Investigative Subcommittee are the Honorable Theodore E. Deutch and the Honorable Ann Wagner.

No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules.

###