Theodore E. Deutch, Florida Chairman Kenny Marchant, Texas Ranking Member

Grace Meng, New York Susan Wild, Pennsylvania Dean Phillips, Minnesota Anthony Brown, Maryland

George Holding, North Carolina Jackie Walorski, Indiana Michael Guest, Mississippi



U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

David W. Arrojo Counsel to the Chairman

Christopher A. Donesa

Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt June 12, 2020

STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING DELEGATE MICHAEL F.Q. SAN NICOLAS

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement:

In accordance with House Rule XI, clause 3, and Committee Rules 10(a)(2) and 18, the Committee unanimously voted on March 11, 2020, to establish an Investigative Subcommittee. Pursuant to the Committee's action, the Investigative Subcommittee shall have jurisdiction to determine whether Delegate Michael F.Q. San Nicolas may have: engaged in a sexual relationship with an individual on his congressional staff; converted campaign funds to personal use; accepted improper and/or excessive campaign contributions; reported campaign disbursements that may not be legitimate and verifiable campaign expenditures attributable to bona fide campaign or political purposes; omitted required information from or disclosed false information in reports filed with the Federal Election Commission; made false statements to government investigators or agencies; and/or improperly interfered or attempted to interfere in a government investigation of related allegations in violation of House Rules, law, regulations, or other standards of conduct.

The Honorable Grace Meng will serve as Chairwoman of the Investigative Subcommittee, and the Honorable Jackie Walorski will serve as the Ranking Member. The other two members of the Investigative Subcommittee are the Honorable Darren Soto and the Honorable Vicky Hartzler.

The Committee has determined to take this action following receipt of a referral from the Office of Congressional Ethics regarding this matter. The Committee notes that the mere fact of establishing an Investigative Subcommittee does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred.

No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules. Pursuant to House Rule XI, clause 3(b)(8)(B)(iii), and Committee Rule 17A(f)(1), no documents will be released at this time.