Theodore E. Deutch, Florida *Chairman* Jackie Walorski, Indiana *Ranking Member*

Susan Wild, Pennsylvania Dean Phillips, Minnesota Veronica Escobar, Texas Mondaire Jones, New York

Michael Guest, Mississippi Dave Joyce, Ohio John H. Rutherford, Florida Kelly Armstrong, North Dakota

ONE HUNDRED SEVENTEENTH CONGRESS

U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt

JUNE 24, 2022

STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING DELEGATE MICHAEL F.Q. SAN NICOLAS

Pursuant to House Rule XI Clause 3(q)(1), today the Chairman of the Committee on Ethics, Representative Theodore E. Deutch, and the Ranking Member, Representative Jackie Walorski, submitted a report to the House of Representatives in the Matter of Allegations Relating to Delegate San Nicolas. The full Committee report includes the report of the Investigative Subcommittee (ISC) in this matter.

At the completion of its investigation, the ISC unanimously concluded that there was substantial evidence that Delegate San Nicolas: accepted improper excessive campaign contributions; engaged in a conspiracy to hide the proceeds of the illicit campaign contributions; knowingly caused his campaign committee to file false or incomplete reports with the Federal Election Commission; and attempted to improperly influence a witness in connection with this Committee's investigation. In light of the Delegate's impending retirement from the House and the potential for expiration of applicable statutes of limitations, the ISC recommended that the Committee refer these allegations to the Department of Justice.

The Committee on Ethics has unanimously voted to adopt the ISC's report, and with it, refer the substantial evidence of potential violations of federal criminal law to the Department of Justice for such further action as it deems appropriate.

The Committee thanks the members of the Investigative Subcommittee for their hard work, dedication, and service to the Committee and to the House. Representative Darren Soto served as Chair of the Investigative Subcommittee. Representative Jackie Walorski served as Ranking Republican Member. Representatives Dina Titus and Vicky Hartzler also served on the Subcommittee. Each of these members devoted substantial time and effort to the investigation, and the Committee thanks each of them for their service.



David W. Arrojo Counsel to the Chairman

Kelle A. Strickland Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392