Theodore E. Deutch, Florida *Chairman* Jackie Walorski, Indiana *Ranking Member* 

Susan Wild, Pennsylvania Dean Phillips, Minnesota Veronica Escobar, Texas Mondaire Jones, New York

Michael Guest, Mississippi Dave Joyce, Ohio John H. Rutherford, Florida Kelly Armstrong, North Dakota



## U.S. House of Representatives COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

Thomas A. Rust
Staff Director and Chief Counsel

David W. Arrojo Counsel to the Chairman

Kelle A. Strickland
Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 Facsimile: (202) 225–7392

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt July 20, 2021

## STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING REPRESENTATIVE RALPH NORMAN

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement:

On May 20, 2021, the Committee received a notification from the Office of the Sergeant at Arms that Representative Ralph Norman has been fined pursuant to House Resolution 38 and House Rule II, clause 3(g). Representative Norman filed an appeal with the Committee on June 16, 2021, after the Committee adopted its written rules. Pursuant to House Resolution 38 and clause 3(g)(3)(C) of House Rule II, upon receipt of an appeal after the Committee adopts its written rules, the Committee has 30 days to consider the appeal, and the fine will be upheld unless the appeal is agreed to by a majority of the Committee.

A majority of the Committee did not agree to the appeal. Pursuant to House Resolution 38 and clause 3(g)(3)(C) of House Rule II, the Committee hereby publishes the required notification and Representative Norman's written appeal.

###