Michael Guest, Mississippi *Chairman* Mark DeSaulnier, California *Ranking Member*

John H. Rutherford, Florida Andrew R. Garbarino, New York Ashley Hinson, Iowa Nathaniel Moran, Texas

Deborah K. Ross, North Carolina Glenn F. Ivey, Maryland Sylvia R. Garcia, Texas Suhas Subramanyam, Virginia

ONE HUNDRED NINETEENTH CONGRESS

U.S. House of Representatives

COMMITTEE ON ETHICS

FOR RELEASE: Upon Receipt

Thomas A. Rust Staff Director and Chief Counsel

Jordan Downs Chief of Staff to the Chairman

David Arrojo Counsel to the Ranking Member

1015 Longworth House Office Building Washington, D.C. 20515–6328 Telephone: (202) 225–7103 https://Ethics.House.gov

July 25, 2025

STATEMENT OF THE CHAIRMAN AND RANKING MEMBER OF THE COMMITTEE ON ETHICS REGARDING REPRESENTATIVE SHEILA CHERFILUS-MCCORMICK

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement:

In accordance with House Rule XI, clause 3 and Committee Rule 10(a)(2) and 18, the Committee unanimously voted to re-authorize an Investigative Subcommittee for the 119th Congress to review allegations involving Representative Sheila Cherfilus-McCormick.

The Honorable Andrew R. Garbarino will serve as Chair of the Investigative Subcommittee and the Honorable Chrissy Houlahan will serve as the Ranking Member. The other two Members of the Investigative Subcommittee are the Honorable Cliff Bentz and the Honorable Troy Carter.

The Committee notes that the mere fact of an investigation into these allegations does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred. No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules.

###