Main menu

Statement of the Chairman and Acting Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics regarding Representative Laura Richardson

Nov 4, 2011
Press Release

   In accordance with Clause 3 of House Rule XI and Committee Rules 14(a)(3) and 18, the Committee on Ethics (the Committee) unanimously voted on November 3, 2011, to establish an investigative subcommittee. Pursuant to the Committee’s action, the investigative subcommittee shall have jurisdiction to determine whether Representative Laura Richardson violated the Code of Official Conduct or any law, rule, regulation, or other applicable standard of conduct in the performance of her duties or the discharge of her responsibilities, with respect to alleged use of official House resources and personnel for work related to campaign activities and other non-official purposes.

   The Committee-initiated action follows a discretionary review of the allegations, pursuant to Committee Rule 18(a), authorized by the Chair and Ranking Republican Member of the Committee during the 111th Congress.  Prior to any decisions made in the 112th Congress, in light of uncertainties related to the redistricting process in California, at her initiative Ranking Member Linda T. Sánchez recused herself from consideration of this matter to avoid even the appearance of a conflict of interest.  Representative Sánchez designated Representative John A. Yarmuth to act as Acting Ranking Member for purposes of this matter.

   The Committee notes that the mere fact of establishing an investigative subcommittee does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred. 

   Representative Charles W. Dent will serve as the Chair of the investigative subcommittee, and Representative John A. Yarmuth will serve as the Ranking Member.  The other two members of the subcommittee are Representative Rob Bishop and Representative Ben Ray Luján.  No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules.


Press Release