Main menu

Statement of the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics Regarding Representative George Santos

Mar 2, 2023
Press Release

Pursuant to Committee Rule 7, the Chairman and Ranking Member of the Committee on Ethics (Committee) determined to release the following statement: 

In accordance with House Rule XI, clause 3, and Committee Rules 10(a)(2) and 16(d), the Committee unanimously voted on February 28, 2023, to establish an Investigative Subcommittee.  Pursuant to the Committee’s action, the Investigative Subcommittee shall have jurisdiction to determine whether Representative George Santos may have: engaged in unlawful activity with respect to his 2022 congressional campaign; failed to properly disclose required information on statements filed with the House; violated federal conflict of interest laws in connection with his role in a firm providing fiduciary services; and/or engaged in sexual misconduct towards an individual seeking employment in his congressional office.

The Honorable David Joyce will serve as Chair of the Investigative Subcommittee, and the Honorable Susan Wild will serve as the Ranking Member.  The other two members of the Investigative Subcommittee are the Honorable John Rutherford and the Honorable Glenn Ivey. 

The Committee notes that the mere fact of establishing an Investigative Subcommittee does not itself indicate that any violation has occurred. 

No other public comment will be made on this matter except in accordance with Committee rules.




Press Release